La Société Makivik félicite le Parti libéral du Québec

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik-April 8, 2014 –  La Société Makivik félicite Philippe Couillard et le Parti libéral du Québec pour leur victoire décisive lors de l’élection québécoise du 7 avril 2014.

Makivik collaborera avec plaisir avec le nouveau gouvernement afin de trouver des solutions aux problèmes du Nunavik comme la pénurie de logements et le coût élevé de la vie. « Les Inuits du Nunavik ont toujours réussi à travailler avec l’ensemble des gouvernements élus. Nous sommes heureux de la stabilité qu’un gouvernement majoritaire procurera au Québec. Cela devrait nous permettre de faire progresser certains dossiers prioritaires pour notre région », a tenu à souligner le président de la Société Makivik, Jobie Tukkiapik.

Pour la première fois de son histoire, la circonscription d’Ungava, qui inclut le Nunavik, a non seulement élu un candidat libéral, mais également un résident de Kuujjuaq, Jean Boucher. La Société Makivik espère que l’expérience de M. Boucher et sa connaissance des enjeux du Nunavik seront utilisées à bon escient par le nouveau gouvernement.

La Société Makivik tient également à remercier Pauline Marois pour le travail accompli au nom des Inuits du Nunavik au cours de son mandat à titre de première ministre de la province. Mme Marois a posé des gestes concrets afin d’augmenter la contribution versée pour le financement de diverses mesures visant à atténuer coût élevé de la vie au Nunavik.

Pour plus d’information, contactez:

Kitty Gordon
Agente de communication
kgordon@makivik.org
1-800-361-7052

La Société Makivik félicite le Parti libéral du Québec

Nunavik’s Makivik Corporation congratulates Liberal victory

Kuujjuaq, Nunavik-April 8, 2014 – The Makivik Corporation wishes to congratulate Philippe Couillard and the Liberal Party of Quebec for the decisive victory in the April 7th Quebec election.

The Makivik Corporation is looking forward to working with the new government to address the issues specific to Nunavik such as housing shortage and the high cost of living.  Makivik President Jobie Tukkiapik mentioned: “The Nunavik Inuit always managed to work with any government that is elected.  We welcome the stability that a majority government will bring in Quebec.  This should help us move forward in a number of priority files for our region.”

For the first time in history the Ungava Riding which includes Nunavik has not only elected a Liberal candidate but a resident of Kuujjuaq, Jean Boucher.  Makivik Corporation hopes that Mr.Boucher’s experience and knowledge of Nunavik issues will be put to good use in the new government.

The Makivik Corporation also wishes to thank Pauline Marois for her hard work on behalf of the Inuit of Nunavik during her term as premier of the province. Mrs. Marois was instrumental in ensuring Quebec’s increased contribution to the cost of living measures in Nunavik.

For more information contact:

William Tagoona
Senior Communications Officer
wtagoona@makivik.org
819-964-2925

Makivik is the development corporation mandated to manage the heritage funds of the Inuit of Nunavik provided for in the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement. Makivik’s role includes the administration and investment of these funds and the promotion of economic growth.

Nunavik’s Makivik Corporation congratulates Liberal victory