Makivik Corporation Salutes the Incorporation to the Civil Code of Quebec of the Inuit Customary Adoption

Communiqué

Montréal, Québec, le 13 juin 2012 – La Société Makivik est ravie d’être associée au dépôt du projet de loi intitulé Loi modifiant le Code civil et d’autres dispositions législatives en matière d’adoption et d’autorité parentale, qui comprend l’ajout de dispositions relatives à l’adoption coutumière autochtone au Code civil du Québec.

Le projet de loi prévoit la reconnaissance des effets de l’adoption coutumière inuite au moyen d’un mécanisme élaboré conjointement par la Société Makivik, la Régie régionale de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Nunavik et les représentants d’autres nations autochtones permettant de délivrer des certificats de naissance reflétant la nouvelle filiation créée conformément à cette tradition séculaire.

L’adoption coutumière inuite, une pratique ancestrale toujours vivante au Nunavik où près d’un nouveau-né sur cinq est adopté, nécessitait une inclusion officielle et non équivoque de ses effets au Code civil du Québec en tout respect des droits civils, constitutionnels et issus de traités des parents et des enfants.

Cette demande de longue date, initiée par les organisations régionales du Nunavik dans les années 1990, et réitérée dans le rapport du Groupe de travail sur l’adoption coutumière en milieu autochtone déposé le 16 avril 2012 a été accueillie favorablement par le gouvernement du Québec, et s’est concrétisée aujourd’hui par le dépôt à l’Assemblée nationale d’un projet de loi par le ministre de la Justice, M. Jean-Marc Fournier.
Jobie Tukkiapik, président de la Société Makivik a déclaré « Nous sommes très heureux d’avoir participé à l’élaboration de ces modifications au Code civil du Québec, et ce résultat positif devrait permettre de résoudre les difficultés quotidiennes rencontrées par les parents adoptant des enfants selon la coutume, le tout dans le respect du droit coutumier, des droits et des traditions des Inuits du Nunavik. »

La Société Makivik, tout en réservant ses observations concernant le projet de loi pour une date ultérieure, entend poursuivre sa collaboration avec le gouvernement du Québec en vue d’adopter et de mettre en œuvre cette approche innovatrice.

Makivik est une société sans but lucratif chargée de gérer les fonds patrimoniaux perçus par les Inuits du Nunavik en vertu de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois. Elle a notamment pour rôle d’administrer et de placer ces fonds, et de promouvoir la croissance économique en aidant à créer des entreprises dirigées par les
Inuits du Nunavik. La Société Makivik favorise la préservation de la culture et de la langue inuites, de même que la santé, le bien-être social et économique, et l’éducation des Inuits dans les communautés du Nunavik.

-30-

Pour accéder aux documents du Gouvernement du Québec auxquels réfère le présent communiqué :

http://www.justice.gouv.qc.ca/francais/ministere/dossiers/adoption/adoption.htm

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez contacter :
Kitty Gordon
Agente des communications
Société Makivik
514.745.8880 poste 2215
kgordon@makivik.org

Cliquez ici pour télécharger la version PDF du communiqué

Makivik Corporation Salutes the Incorporation to the Civil Code of Quebec of the Inuit Customary Adoption

Makivik Corporation Salutes the Incorporation to the Civil Code of Quebec of the Inuit Customary Adoption

Press Release

Montreal, Qc -June 13, 2012 – Makivik is pleased to be associated with the tabling of the Act to amend the Civil Code and other legislative provisions as regards adoption and parental authority, which includes provisions on Aboriginal customary adoption to the Civil code of Quebec.

Under the Bill, the effects of the Inuit customary adoption are to be recognized while, under a mechanism developed in partnership with the Makivik Corporation, the Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services and with other Aboriginal Nations representation, a birth certificate will be issued reflecting the new lineage created pursuant to this secular tradition.

Inuit customary adoption in Nunavik, an ancestral yet living practice whereby one out of every five newborns is adopted, needed an official and non equivocal inclusion of its effects to the Quebec civil code, in the respect of the parents and children’s civil, constitutional and treaty rights.

This long-lasting request, initiated in Nunavik by its regional organizations in the 90s and reiterated at the April 16, 2012 report of the Working Group on Aboriginal Customary Adoption in Quebec (the Working Group), has been positively received by the Quebec Government under the leadership of its Minister of Justice, Mr. Jean-Marc Fournier, with the tabling of said Bill to the National Assembly, this morning of June 13 2012.
Jobie Tukkiapik, President of Makivik Corporation, stated: “We were pleased to be associated with the development of those modifications to the Quebec Civil code and this positive outcome shall, at last, resolve the everyday difficulties faced by our customary parents and children, in the respect of the Nunavik Inuit customary laws, rights and traditions”.

Makivik Corporation, while reserving its further comments regarding the Bill at a later date, renews its collaboration with the Quebec Government towards the review, establishment and implementation of this innovative approach.

The Makivik Corporation is a not-for-profit corporation mandated to manage the heritage funds of the Inuit of Nunavik provided for in the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement. Makivik´s role includes the administration and investment of these funds, and the promotion of economic growth by providing assistance for the creation of Inuit-operated businesses in Nunavik. Makivik promotes the preservation of Inuit culture and language as well as the health, welfare, relief of poverty and education of Inuit in Nunavik communities.

To access official Québec documents mentioned in this press release:

http://www.justice.gouv.qc.ca/english/ministere/dossiers/adoption/adoption-a.htm

-30-

For additional information:
Kitty Gordon
Communications Officer
Makivik Corporation
514.745.8880 ext. 2215
kgordon@makivik.org

Click here to download the PDF version of the Press Release

Makivik Corporation Salutes the Incorporation to the Civil Code of Quebec of the Inuit Customary Adoption