ICC 2014

Inuit Circumpolar Council General Assembly 2014

After thorough discussions in Inuvik at the 12th General Assembly of ICC, the Inuit Delegations of Alaska, Canada, Greenland, and Chukotka, unanimously agreed on the Kitigaaruit Declaration, which can be found here. The overarching theme of this General Assembly was Ukiuqta’qtumi Huvuniptingnun One Arctic, One Future. 

This declaration reads and was “Inspired by the spirit and power of Kitigaaryuit, a traditional whaling village and meeting site that served to bring together and sustain Inuit, reminding us of the connection between past, present and future.”

This week Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) Canada is hosting ICC’s 12th General Assembly in Inuvik. The ICC Delegations include: Canada, the USA, Greenland and Russia. The Nunavik Delegates on the Canadian Delegation are the Makivik Executives: President Jobie Tukkiapik and Vice Presidents

Michael Gordon and Adamie Delisle Alaku. This year ICC Canada will take on the international chairmanship. Makivik President Jobie Tukkiapik will be speaking on Thursday about the Inuit response to Arctic environmental changes that present both opportunities and challenges. This General

Assembly is meeting until July 24, 2014.